Driver Problems? Questions? Issues?
Put OSR's experience to work for you! Contact us for assistance with:
  • Creating the right design for your requirements
  • Reviewing your existing driver code
  • Analyzing driver reliability/performance issues
  • Custom training mixed with consulting and focused directly on your specific areas of interest/concern.
Check us out. OSR, the Windows driver experts.

OSR Seminars


Go Back   OSR Online Lists > ntfsd
Welcome, Guest
You must login to post to this list
  Message 1 of 5  
04 May 18 06:53
vishal ghadge
xxxxxx@gmail.com
Join Date: 09 May 2017
Posts To This List: 10
Windows 10 RS4-FltGetFileNameInformation() API failed for network path

In my minifilter, I am querying file name by specifying (FLT_FILE_NAME_NORMALIZED|FLT_FILE_NAME_QUERY_DEFAULT) flags to API FltGetFileNameInformation() in Post-Create callback. FltGetFileNameInformation() API failed with status "STATUS_FLT_INVALID_NAME_REQUEST" on network path over SMB protocol 1.0. This issue was observed only on Windows 10 RS4 (April Update) build. Any changes in RS4? I did 2 tryouts: 1. Passed "FLT_FILE_NAME_OPENED|FLT_FILE_NAME_QUERY_DEFAULT" flags instead of "FLT_FILE_NAME_NORMALIZED|FLT_FILE_NAME_QUERY_DEFAULT" - FltGetFileNameInformation() API gets success. 2. Passed "FLT_FILE_NAME_NORMALIZED|FLT_FILE_NAME_QUERY_ALWAYS_ALLOW_CACHE_LOOKUP" flags instead of "FLT_FILE_NAME_NORMALIZED|FLT_FILE_NAME_QUERY_DEFAULT" - FltGetFileNameInformation() API gets failed sometimes(normally only on first access). Does anyone has encountered this issue?
  Message 2 of 5  
11 May 18 15:22
Scott Noone
xxxxxx@osr.com
Join Date: 10 Jul 2002
Posts To This List: 989
List Moderator
Windows 10 RS4-FltGetFileNameInformation() API failed for network path

Did you manage to get anywhere with this? It would be pretty bad. First thing I would do would be to get Process Monitor running under my filter and try to see what's failing. -scott OSR @OSRDrivers
  Message 3 of 5  
23 May 18 06:02
vishal ghadge
xxxxxx@gmail.com
Join Date: 09 May 2017
Posts To This List: 10
Windows 10 RS4-FltGetFileNameInformation() API failed for network path

Thanks Scott for your inputs. >>Did you manage to get anywhere with this? It would be pretty bad. Not yet. >>First thing I would do would be to get Process Monitor running under my filter and try to see what's failing. I have collected and analyzed process monitor logs by placing it below my filter, but I didn't see any failure cases.
  Message 4 of 5  
23 May 18 13:42
Scott Noone
xxxxxx@osr.com
Join Date: 10 Jul 2002
Posts To This List: 989
List Moderator
Windows 10 RS4-FltGetFileNameInformation() API failed for network path

For fun and as a learning exercise, does this work in PreCreate? You might need to step through FltGetFileNameInformation and see where the error value is coming from. Not fun, but might be necessary. Also, just because I have to ask: are you 100% positive the trace happened with ProcMon beneath you? ProcMon like to self heal its altitude, so if you change it in the registry (e.g. to put ProcMon lower) the change is undone. You can change this either by moving your altitude up or removing write access from the ProcMon service key. Just want to rule out that there's no error being thrown from someone beneath you that's causing the failure. -scott OSR @OSRDrivers
  Message 5 of 5  
24 May 18 11:58
vishal ghadge
xxxxxx@gmail.com
Join Date: 09 May 2017
Posts To This List: 10
Windows 10 RS4-FltGetFileNameInformation() API failed for network path

>For fun and as a learning exercise, does this work in PreCreate? Not working with pre-create as well. >You might need to step through FltGetFileNameInformation and see where the error >value is coming from. Not fun, but might be necessary. I am trying to step through FltGetFileNameInformation, but no luck so far. >Also, just because I have to ask: are you 100% positive the trace happened with >ProcMon beneath you? Yes Scott, I know it's bit tricky but I managed to attached it below my filter and confirmed by fltmc output. >Just want to rule out that there's no error being thrown from >someone beneath you that's causing the failure. As the same issue is present in pre-create and there is only process monitor above my filter, from this can we conclude that issue is not due to other filter.
Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You must login to OSR Online AND be a member of the ntfsd list to be able to post.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:32.


Copyright ©2015, OSR Open Systems Resources, Inc.
Based on vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2005, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Modified under license